Parco dei Nebrodi


Aeolian Archipelago


"Not even painting it would give an idea of this convulsive, burning, almost melting land. We could not distinguish our journey from our dream." A. Dumas

The Aeolian Islands, also known as the Lipari Islands, are an archipelago of volcanic origin, located in the Tyrrhenian Sea north of the Sicilian coast, a place of wild and rare beauty. The islands are named after the god Aeolus, king of the winds, who, according to Greek mythology, established his residence there and gave them his name because of his fame as the tamer of the winds.

The first in a long line of illustrious travellers was Ulysses who, as Homer recounts in the Odyssey, arrived in the Aeolian Islands after having survived the Cyclops Polyphemus and was hosted here by Aeolus and given the wineskin containing the headwinds that would bring him back home.
And so again the archipelago is mentioned by Virgil in the Aeneid with the famous description of the island of Vulcan, a mythological forge where the god of the same name forged metals.

The Aeolian archipelago consists of seven islands: Vulcano, Lipari, Salina, Alicudi, Filicudi, Panarea and Stromboli. They include two active volcanoes, Stromboli and Vulcano, as well as various phenomena of secondary volcanism. The thousand-year history of the archipelago is well documented by the Museo Archeologico Regionale Eoliano, with headquarters in Lipari and detached sections in Filicudi and Panarea.

aeolian islands sunset
aeolian islands 2
aeolian islands 1

    Book a Table

    This will close in 0 seconds